Fairfields School Trinity Avenue Northampton NN2 6JN Tel: 01604 714777 Contact Us

About us


Teaching Schools were introduced by the government to enhance school improvement. As an outstanding school, Fairfields was designated a teaching school in 2012 by the National College for Teaching and Leadership and the Fairfields Teaching School Alliance (FTSA) was born. Our alliance comprises 76 primary, secondary and special schools across Northamptonshire, committed to working in partnership to improve teaching and learning and provide the best outcomes for pupils.

We encourage all partner schools to share resources, learn from each other and become contributors to the alliance. All member schools benefit from effective support to improve learning outcomes and professional development for teachers. We strive to fully support all of our schools to become outstanding.

We follow the principles of the “Big Three” for teaching schools:

  • Initial Teacher Training
  • Continued Professional Development
  • School to School Support

Privacy Notice




Our Alliance Schools benefit from exclusive training and school to school support activities, over and above our universal offer, as part of their membership package. For full details, please see our prospectus. You can find our most recent newsletters on our News page.

For membership inquiries, please contact Charlie Furniss at teachingschool@fairfields.northants.sch.uk

Our membership fee information is available here.



Meet the Team


Karen Lewis – Headteacher                                          Charlie Furniss – Teaching School Lead


Jodie Walton – Finance Assistant                           Hazel Donneky – PA to Teaching School Lead



Strategic Partners

Alliance Members

Primary Schools240_F_78104299_dXOyeOVtm2DFb7n6Mym4L73Il9tkRD8v

Secondary Schools

Special Schools

St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Academy Trust

Innovate Multi Academy Trust Schools


  • Michael Thompson
  • Mark Rapps
  • Heidi Redman SENCo
  • Rachel Creamer SENCo
  • Rebecca Knight
  • Andy Lakatos
  • Mary Tulley
  • Ben Kingston Hughes